At Our House, Musings

SOME THINGS STAY THE SAME

Guiding Promise

This week Nat officially became part of the Girl Guide movement. At age seven she’s a Brownie. The enrollment ceremony was a real goose-bump mummy moment for me, and it made me realise how glad I am that not everything in life changes at a million miles an hour.

It does seem like there’s not much about my children’s word that is similar to the world I grew up in, but as Nat held up her three fingers and earnestly made the Guiding promise, I could clearly remember doing the same thing at the same age. Except, instead of the funky pink t-shirt with navy skort, my uniform was brown … a BROWN PINAFORE! Honestly what were they thinking? I guess it was the 80’s. Thank goodness some things do change.

Anyway, I digress.

Brownie Nat
A slightly bedraggled Nat after a water fight at her first night at Brownies.

I have such fond memories of Brownies and Guides – the plays, the crafts, the games, warm milky Milo in the cold church hall, earning badges, my first camps. I can still visualise the multicoloured patchwork covers on the bunk-beds at the camp. My list of memories could go on and on.

So for me, seeing Nat entering a world where girls are encouraged to have fun and be brave, to learn as part of a team, where everyone and every belief is accepted, and good old-fashioned values are actively taught, this excites me.

The world of Brownies and Guides is a little bit old school. They climb trees and play running games outside on summer evenings. They play indoor balloon games and make hokey pokey in the winter. They do not play with technology.

At the end of each night they sing TAPS (to the tune of The Last Post):

“Day is done, gone the sun,
From the lake, from the hills, from the sky;
All is well, safely rest, God is nigh”.

I got chills the first time I heard this again. I had forgotten but it came rushing back in a second, all the emotion and memories with it. This is tradition to me.

I think our kids need a little bit (or a lot) of ‘old school’ and tradition  in their lives. Don’t you?

3 thoughts on “SOME THINGS STAY THE SAME”

  1. Dear Abbie, Thanks so much for sharing this with me – and with others. I am shedding tears of joy as I read and reflect on all of these postings. We love you so much. Lots of love to you, Richard, Natalie and you boys, Bev xxx

    Like

What do you think?...

