Writing prompt

REAL AND TRUE

Daily prompt: Generous Genie

I’m a genie, newly liberated from the confines of my bottle. My three wishes, free to anyone I favour. How do I choose? Conundrum or child’s play?

If it were me, I would need only one wish. To bring back my mum. But what are the implications of that? The price of being human, and of loving, is losing. In losing we hurt, but we also grow, we learn about ourselves and how to cope with challenges that life will throw at us. Besides, if I could bring her back, I know in time she would have to leave once more and my heart doesn’t want to beat to that drum again.

My children would wish for 1,000 more wishes, millions of dollars, no more school, endless supplies of lollies. At what cost? A life of entitlement, never knowing what it is to work and earn what they need. And a life without education – not worth pondering. We’re so lucky to live in a part of the world where it’s a given.

So I would take those three wishes, stuff them back in the bottle and put the lid on tight in favour of a life that is real and true.

When life is too easy for us, we must beware or we may not be ready to meet the blows which sooner or later come to everyone, rich or poor. Eleanor Roosevelt

 

This post is in response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Remember those lovely genies who grant wishes? Well, you’re one and you’ve just been emancipated from your restrictive lamp. You can give your three wishes to whomever you want. Who do you give your three wishes to, and why?

 

7 thoughts on “REAL AND TRUE”

  1. I would wish to bring my brother back but then I agree with what you said.. we cannot avoid loss. I think if it is about me then I will ask for eternal peace for every heart. A peaceful mind and soul is nothing less than a blessing. Thanks for sharing a thoughtful post. I loved it 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you. I did think about going bigger and healing the hurts of the world but the old ‘easy come easy go’ just seemed to stick with me.

      Like

  2. A wise and courageous use of wishes Abbie… I love the quote, it’s so true. We can flourish when external values come crashing down and we re-define what’s truly important in life ❤ I'm so grateful to have my mother in my life… she is my hero ❤

    Like

    1. My mum was my hero too 🙂 Losing her and going through the grieving process has made me ponder a LOT of life and what is truly important. Good can, and does, come from bad 😉

      Like

What do you think?...

