Sinking Deep: Hillsong Y&F

Music moves me. No question. There are lyrics, songs, albums and artists that define periods of my life.

I have no doubt that Hillsong Young & Free is going to be the music I look back and identify with this early part of 2015. My entire adult life has been about trying to control everything. And worrying what people might think about me. But this is the time when I’m (finally) throwing myself with complete surrender into my relationship with my Lord. Now, without fear, I am His and I am letting Him lead my life.

I am so undeserving of his love, mercy and grace yet He continues to offer that to me. To all of us.

I’m grateful. I’m humbled. I’m excited. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Y&F We are young and freeI want and need my music to express that.

Which is why I can’t get enough of Hillsong Young and Free at the moment. We were lucky enough to worship with Y&F live at Cloud Festival in January. That was a truly awesome experience. I might not quite be their target demographic (I’m, um *cough* a decade or so older than they probably pitch at) but I got in there and loved every second of the worship.

This album offers me the opportunity to praise and worship. It goes fast and takes me to a happy, shout it out and dance worship, then it drops slow and and reaches deep into my heart pulling out genuine love.  You will often find me dancing around the house while doing housework, or ‘wunning’ (walk/run – I walk really fast) down the river tracks in the morning with Y&F in my ears. It’s equally likely I’ll have it plugged in for a quiet journal session in the evening.

The song that speaks to me most is Sinking Deep. The melody and the lyrics just tug my soul. This is what I yearn for, this is how I’m being called at the moment. It’s beautiful and I love it.

Standing here in your presence
In a grace so relentless
I am won by perfect love
Wrapped within arms of heaven
In a peace that last forever
Sinking deep in mercy’s sea

I’m wide awake, drawing close, stirred by grace
And all my heart is yours
All fear removed, I breathe you in, I lean into Your love

Your love so deep, Is washing over me
Your face is all I seek, you are my everything
Jesus Christ, You are my one desire
Lord hear my only cry, to know you all my life

I’m also listening to a lot of Jesus Culture, Lauren Diagle, Julia Grace and Newsboys.

Abbie x

5 thoughts on “Sinking Deep: Hillsong Y&F

  1. Right there with you. Love all genres of music…even within the community of faith when it comes to CCM, Bethel Worship & Hillsong blesses me every time!!

    Oh & if you’re looking for an awesome couple of songs to put in rotation for soaking prayer, my favorites are:

    Colin & Paige Edge You Never Let Me Go

    Forever Yours Gateway Worship

    Here Waiting Joshua Dufrene

    Be blessed beyond measure & strengthened for the journey!

    e

    Like

What do you think?...

