Blended Family, Musings

When 1 + 1 = 8

Earlier this month we went to one of the most beautiful weddings I think I have ever attended. The setting was gorgeous, outdoors under well established trees in a beautiful garden. We sat on hay bails covered with white taffeta as the sun dimpled through the trees. The groom was handsome, the bride was stunning. So were their children. And I don’t think a single person there could deny that God was in ‘the house’. Oh yes, these two are meant to be together.

As much as the setting was gorgeous, for me, my heart-strings were really pulled on a deeper level. I could so relate with this couple. A widower who tragically lost his wife far too young, leaving him to raise their four children. And a young woman raising her twin boys alone. The joining of this gorgeous couple didn’t just bring together a husband and wife, but a big beautifully blended family.

The best man (the groom’s teenage son) spoke of the order his new stepmother would likely bring to the house…as only a woman can! The father of the groom was overwhelmed with joy when he could talk of his son’s renewed happiness after some really awful times. He also reminded the bride that she was inheriting two sets of in-laws with her new husband’s, late-wife’s family as well.

Oh yes, Richard and I could so relate! I’m just so excited for this new Mr&Mrs. It’s not an ‘everyday’ beginning to a marriage but it’s one I have lived. And continue to live. It’s not an easy beginning to a marriage but are any of the beginnings really easy, if we’re honest? Besides, there are also some really cool aspects that I pray work as well in their life, as they have in ours. The growing bonds between step-siblings, the very extended family, the maturity and experience brought to the marriage from the outset.

These are gifts.

the secret to happy marriage #goodadvice #instablogging #abbiesbabbleSomething I took away from the Pastor’s message was a little nugget of wisdom gleaned from a couple who had been married for 65 years. When asked what their secret to a successful marriage was, they said “we come from a time when, if something broke, we fixed it”. Isn’t that beautiful?! Words to live by I think, I’m getting a bit fed up with this ‘disposable life’ that seems to be so fashionable now. But that’s a whole different blog post…

 

CC Image background It’s All About Love by Candida.Performa via Flickr
abbie123

2 thoughts on “When 1 + 1 = 8”

  1. That’s a really strong quote. I’m not even in a relationship right now but I think this is so true. My parents have been married since they were 22 (nearly 35 years!) and that’s not to say its been easy but none of the solutions ever involve just giving up on each other. I know divorce for some is the right thing and that actually that’s just a symptom of a different problem. I think that actually the haste of getting married and the reality of that commitment is often entered into too quickly, then when it doesn’t work out the way people expected it to, the damage is just a lot worse.

    http://www.racheltrieslife.com

    Like

    1. Your parents are awesome. They’ve obviously set a great example for you 🙂 I’m second time married as my first husband literally ran away from ‘us’. He had problems, and we needed to work stuff out but I don’t believe for a second we couldn’t have fixed it. With work. It was after about six months by myself but not giving up, my grandfather said to me, ‘Abbie you can’t be married by yourself’. Yep, sometimes divorce is the right (only) option, doesn’t mean it couldn’t have been fixed though. Thanks for your perspective 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?...

