Scripted Sunday: Can’t Stand The Rain

I love Lady Antebellum – driving, baking, house-working – their music just seems to work for me when I don’t know what else I feel like listening to. The lyrics of the song “Can’t Stand the Rain” really jumped out at me this weekend when I had a particular friend on my mind. She’s a very dear friend and I hope I am her umbrella – not just because she’s journeying through a storm at the moment, but all the time. I love her to pieces and miss her lots.

Can’t Stand the Rain
Lady Antebellum

The storms of life are gonna blow through, baby
You know we’ve all seen a cloud or two
But I meant it when I promised I would have your back through sky black or blue.
Do you remember how we swore forever till the sweet or the bitter end
Well, this is what they mean when they say you got the real thing in a friend.

With arms open wide
I’ll be your umbrella when you just can’t stand the rain
I’m there by your side,
I wanna be your shelter when you just can’t stand
When you just can’t stand the rain

I don’t know where the road you’re on is gonna end up
Or what this crazy world will put you through.
But don’t you worry about me, baby
You just go and do what you gotta do.
I’ll still be here for you

Umbrella
photo credit: Ulf Bodin via cc
2 thoughts on “Scripted Sunday: Can’t Stand The Rain

  1. I think you’ve been submerged for a very long time. I can go weeks on end if need be. Looking forward to knowing that you are ok.

    Like

What do you think?...

