Virtual Blog Tour Award

To drink tea and to journalSo here’s an award that’s a little different. But first things first, let me use my manners and say a big thank you to Marla over at A Pendulum World for nominating me for the Virtual Blog Tour Award. Again I say, I’m so pleased (and surprised) when someone thinks of Abbie’s Babble when developing a list of award nominees.

This award is a little different to the usual ‘getting to know you’ facts and questions – which I love to answer and then read everyone else’s responses to by the way, it’s a great way to get an insight into who my fellow bloggers are. Anyway, this one is about getting know the inner blogger as opposed to the inner creative as far as I can see (if you know what I mean?!).

Here are the rules

  1. Pass the tour on to up to four other bloggers. Give them the rules and a specific Monday to post.
  2. Answer four questions about your creative process which lets other bloggers and visitors know what inspires you to do what you do:
    • What am I working on at the moment?
    • How does my work differ to others in my genre?
    • Why do I write/create what I do?
    • How does my writing/creative process work?
  3. Compose a one-time post which is posted on a specific Monday (date given from your nominator).

The four bloggers I nominate

Here are the four bloggers I nominate. I’ll look forward to seeing your responses on Monday 1 December.

  • Amanda Grace – I love this lady’s work and keen to find out more about her process 🙂
  • Wanderlust – Hagen’s blog is visually stunning, holds beautiful photography and she crafts the words beautifully.
  • Send Sunshine – Jessica’s blog is just pure positivity and inspiration. I love every post, every day.
  • The All Encompassing Compass – Heather has a great perspective and writes so well. A great blog.

My answers

What am I working on at the moment?

Right now I’m working on a post about Halloween – but by the time this appears you will have already read that. My blog isn’t something I work too far in advance with (at this stage). I tend to write about what’s happening in my world, at the moment.

How does my work differ to others in my genre?

I don’t think I actually have a genre. I’m not a mum blog, or a faith blog, or a health blog or a [insert any genre here] blog. Maybe that makes me different? I blog about life, my life. And given that I’m the only one living my life, I guess my blog couldn’t possibly be like any other!

Why do I write/create what I do?

I write because I can, because I love it, because it helps me work out the mess of thoughts that tend to fly around in my head. When I write, things just make sense. I started to blog as part of a journey of self-discovery. And I am discovering, and totally enjoying the process. I wrote a post a couple of months after I started blogging called I Blog Because, which I think still stands true.

I blog because when I do ... things just make sense.How does my writing/creative process work?

This totally depends on the day! Quite often my blog posts are formed while I’m in the shower, preparing dinner, or driving my car. Also in the wee small hours of the morning in my journal when I’m battling insomnia. Those rare times I’m actually alone with my thoughts. Because I spend so much time forming the posts in my head, often by the time I sit down to write, it’s just a matter of letting my fingers race across the keyboard and letting it all out. I quite often publish my first draft, mostly I only need to do a quite proof read on-screen to be happy. I’ve always written things best after letting them spend a long time in my mind – when planning university work I always PLAN to write essays just a few days before they are due, knowing that by the time I get to actual writing, most of the words are already there, well thought through and ready to go anyway.

Thanks again Marla for this nomination 🙂

AbbiesBabble

4 thoughts on “Virtual Blog Tour Award

  1. I loved learning more about your creative process, Abbie! And I am sincerely impressed that you usually post your first draft of a post! This is not always the case for me, but I’m hoping to get faster at writing. And I agree, I love to think through my ideas for a bit before writing! Loved this post and I’m glad you participated ☺

    Like

    1. Thanks for the nomination! On the posting first draft, sometimes it’s also a case of needs must – I could spend such a long time writing and rewriting otherwise and I wouldn’t end up with any content. hehe 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?...

