Remember the golden rule

We have a golden rule in our home. Well, we have a few. But this one, I wish was a universal thing. For our family, we take a Biblical stance. But I’m pretty sure it spans across all religions in some form. Really, it’s just common sense. I believe the world would be a better place if we could all just apply this:

Golden Rule

Or some others way to put this:

  • So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets (Matthew 7:12)
  • Treat other people how you want to be treated
  • Put out into the world what you want to get back
  • Don’t treat others in a way that you wouldn’t want to be treated
  • Never impose on others what you would not choose for yourself

We can say it different ways but it comes down to the same thing as far as I’m concerned. We all have the power to make this world a better place simply by thinking about our actions and never treating anyone in a way that we wouldn’t accept for ourselves, our mother, our little sister, our best friend…

Now I have to tell you the gorgeous logic of my seven-year old when applying this rule. Often at home I just have to give one of the kids ‘the look’ and utter the words ‘do unto others…’ and that’s enough to put perspective on a dubious behaviour. So it’s fair to say they know the ‘rule’ well. I recently posted about troubles Nat is having with bullying – part of these discussions have included me telling Nat that she doesn’t have to like her bully, but she does still have to treat her respectfully. Well, here’s Nat’s logic:

“But mum, she’s being mean to me all the time. So that means she is OK with me being rude back to her. You KNOW. Treat others how you want to be treated. She’s fine with mean cos that’s how she treats people.”

What’s a mama to say to that? haha.

AbbiesBabble

11 thoughts on “Remember the golden rule

  1. Wow, what logic from your child! How are you supposed to argue with that indeed. Children really do come out with such wondrous things, the likes of which adults could never even begin to ponder.

    Like

    1. I know right?! I think they don’t have so many filters as us and truth just pours out. In the end I told her that even if someone is treating us badly, it doesn’t give us license to treat them badly back. We are still responsible for our own actions, we should set a good example and show them how we wish they would treat us by our good behaviour. Kids make me think on my feet … a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I think you handled that (and answered that!) the best way you could. Ha, I can imagine! I used to work with young children, and they don’t have test your quick mind!

        Like

  2. That is too cute! Out of the mouth of babes. I completely agree with this post so much, Abbie. And it is such a good reminder for me. I’m usually pretty good at applying it to those outside of my home, but sometimes I put it behind me when I’m talking to my husband. But he is a person too and I need to love and do unto him as I hope he will to me. Thank you! 🙂

    Like

    1. Don’t we find it too easy sometimes to let our guards down and just let out loved ones bear the brunt of our stress and emotion. Yep I need to make sure my filters still apply at home too.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?...

