Scripted Sunday

Scripted Sunday: Healing in my wounds

Finding healing in your wounds

I’m a firm believer that good can, and will, come from bad. It’s quite possibly that mindset, along with my faith, that has prevented me from becoming a blithering mess several times this year. I think it’s also why this quote from Rick Warren screamed to me when I saw it on Pinterest.

I think it’s fair to say I’ve had a bit of tough stuff to deal with this year. Having lost my Gran recently, on top of losing my mum, who was followed to heaven by our friends’ young daughter, I’m just kind of sitting here thinking is this it, am I done now, can I start to move on from this grief place before being kicked back to the beginning? But even if I can’t, even if my grief journey has many more roundabouts and roads to travel, I want to continue to carry myself with authenticity, dignity and as much as possible, with strength.

Why?

Because I know my children are watching me. And now that I’ve opened myself up on here, others are too. I want people to know it’s okay to fall apart. But it’s also okay to carry on. The two can happen companionably.

And I want people to see that my strength and my healing comes from my faith, my family and myself. Myself, because it’s something I’m working on – I’m not just waiting to get ‘better’, I’m being intentional about this (hopefully without pushing myself too fast).

If someone can look at me and think ‘if Abbie can do it, I can do it’, if someone reaches out to God because they saw something in my story, if in some way I can influence someone on their journey for the better, then good has come from my sad. And I’m more than happy with that.

 

Sign off

7 thoughts on “Scripted Sunday: Healing in my wounds”

  1. I really appreciate your open heart here! There is so much that I can relate to … your post reminds me of the quote, in love’s war only the wounded can serve. 🙂

    Like

    1. True – just like sometimes when sorting out a physical space, you have to make a total mess first. Then put it all back together. Well that’s my method anyway 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do that too! It is scary to take that step though, basically you are letting go, relinquishing control and that is scary as anything. I think it takes a brave person to take that step 🙂

        Like

  2. Like the seasons, the winter makes room for spring, the old makes way for the new; death makes way for life; endings for beginnings, it’s the cycle of life. We can’t stop it, but we can trust God to renew us like He renews the seasons. Your losses represent the close of a chapter in your life. As hard as it is to swallow, God is now writing a new chapter in your life. Be courageous through your seasons; you’ll see the rewards in just a little while.

    Like

    1. This is possibly my favourite comment anyone has ever made on my blog. I love this, you write so beautifully, and I think you are right too. Thank you so much for these words x

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?...

