Where abbiesbabble is at

Today Wordpress told me I have now published 100 posts. I have 154 people following me. That’s not bad in four months – little numbers for most of you I know but for me, I’m happy. I didn’t do this to get followers but I have to admit, I love it when I know someone new has read something of mine and liked my writing/my perspective enough to want to read more. It’s an honour. I’ve only been blogging such a short time but it’s like I’ve found a new way of life that enhances all the good I already have going on!

The 100 post milestone prompted me to look through the archives. I can’t believe how far I have come so quickly. I started blogging because I was in a hole, getting stuck trying to grieve the loss of my mum/best friend, working out where I fit in my life without her, and in my family (a relatively new 4+2 blend). These were big enormous things – the most life changing defining aspects of my life to date aside from meeting Christ properly and becoming a mother myself.

Map
I’m finding my way again

So yes, my head has been in all sorts of states. Looking through my archive, I hope I haven’t come across as too much of a whiny girl. I’m usually very strong, positive and determined. Actually that should be D-E-T-E-R-M-I-N-E-D. In establishing this place, that is my own, and getting back to journalling, I have worked through a load of stuff and my perspective is much healthier now.

I stand (sit) here now stronger and more focused than when I started blogging back in May. Aside from the healing I discovered in writing, I’ve read so many blogs I can’t tell you. I’ve formed online friendships, I’ve been inspired, I’ve been given (and have taken) advice and reality checks. Thank you blog world for helping me get my sh*t together. Not ignoring my awesome husband who has been especially wonderful and supportive in the process of sh*it togethering 🙂

So what does this mean for abbiesbabble?

To drink tea and to journalWell, I sure as heck am not going away. I’ve changed the look of my pages slightly to reflect a stronger me – the previous headers were just all too soft for the real Abbie. No guarantee I won’t play with this further (hmmm, yes, a distinct probability!). I will continue to journal and to blog openly and honestly about my life and the random things I come across. And I will continue to read and be inspired by other blogs. I do intend to keep an eye on the tone of my blog though – positive and real are what I’m aiming for.

I can see posts with themes of family, faith, food and fun.

FAMILY – well any family has dynamics, mine is no different, especially as a blended family. I include my grief journey with my mum in this category.

FAITH – I walk deeper into my relationship with my Saviour every single day. I can’t and won’t ignore this.

FOOD – I’m embarking on a major sugar reduction in our home. We’re not really too bad but could be a lot better. I don’t doubt we will have some success and some disaster – all blog-worthy! Watch this space anyway.

FUN – well come on, we’re all after a bit of fun. This summer we as a family intend to get into tramping (hiking) which I’m so looking forward to. I’ll share photos and compare blisters if nothing else!

@abbiesbabbleOh, and in case you missed the post, I have a Twitter handle now: @abbiesbabble. The Twittersphere is all new and moves very fast but I’m working it out … I think. Join me!

Loving you blog world – please keep writing!

 

Today is September 11 in New Zealand. Every year this anniversary makes me reflect on what happened in the US and how much the world seems to have changed in that time. I don’t have a lot to say, I just want to acknowledge it x

12 thoughts on “Where abbiesbabble is at

  1. You are doing a great job with the site! Congrats on the milestone and welcome to the addiction of blogging. I alter my site rather often as i enjoy working with CSS but probably shouldn’t do it. Visitors may not like it. Nice post!!

    Like

    1. Thanks John. I follow blogs for the content, not the look. I’m hoping there are others out there the same – the surely won’t mind a bit of creative change!

      Like

  2. Congratulations Abbie! I’ve observed too how progress is often taken for granted, whether it be personal or professional.. And how lightly one credits one’s own self determination for it. You have taken pain and from it created an intention, summoned courage and took action. From this has emerged an Abbie who, over the past 4 months has been taking responsibility for the keeping of a house in which her soul resides…. You realise not all souls are gifted to such grace? I admire you for your honesty, (When you read back it might look like complaining, but really it’s your truth) and just like all things… Cleansing requires first that we get the toxins out. I think you’re about to transition into the replenishing phase ❤️ Respect my girl, for being true to you… Here’s to a 100 more posts, a thousand more readers and an endless supply of inspiration ❤️ Amanda

    Like

    1. As always, I love to read your words Amanda! I love the idea that I’ve been getting rid of the toxins – it makes a lot of sense. Purge and renew … excellent 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think?...

