Random Rant

RANDOM RANT: POLITICKING KIDS

I need to have a wee rant. It’s about those blimen politicians. Oh I know they keep the country running and all that (well so they tell us!). But here in New Zealand we’re in the weeks leading up to National elections. So yeah, we ALL know what that’s like!

I generally consider myself pretty well-informed – somewhere around the middle probably, I’m no intellectual and a lot of what happens in parliament, well, I’m more than happy to let that fly over my head. But I don’t live in a bubble and make sure I know what’s going on. If there’s something I need to know, I’ll find out.

Kids being read to
photo credit: woodleywonderworks via photopin cc

Last week however, politics came into my daughter’s classroom. And not in a ‘learning how the country is run’ kind of a way. I saw red as soon as she told me: “Mummy today we had Mr so-and-so come and read to us and he told us to tell our mum and dad to vote for blah blah party”. It was book week at school so there were loads of people going into the school reading to the children. Oh I so do NOT have a problem with that. Heck we all remember George W Bush reading to a group of youngsters when he heard that The Twin Towers had come down. Politicians have used kids (blergh, I don’t want to see another ‘kiss a baby’ photo!) to further their image forever. So I get that. What I have a problem with is the kids being influenced to vote a certain way. And note, she didn’t tell me what book he read her, in fact she couldn’t remember that, just his little spiel about the election.

Call me old-fashioned, but Dr Phil says it best, “children should not have to deal with adult issues”.

My kids are informed. It’s impossible to avoid the elections, there are signs EVERYWHERE. The kids, especially my young little inquirer Natalie, want to know what it’s all about and how it all works. So they get a super simplified version of government, voting, the voting system and the how and why from me. We’ve also talked about why they won’t vote until they’re 18 – the rules are set that way because they’re not equipped to understand the policies and other information that will be thrown at them to make a good, independent choice. WHICH IS WHY THE POLITICIANS SHOULD KEEP THE POLITICKING OUT OF SCHOOLS!!!!! Oh, I yelled that. Yeah, bit passionate.

Don’t get me wrong Mr and Mrs Politician, go to the schools, have your photo taken reading to the little people, of course it’ll do wonders for your Facebook page. But leave the kids to be kids, don’t bother them with stuff they don’t need to know. It’s not their problem, they will make their own choices later in life … when the time is right.

I don’t know, I might be completely out on my own here. I don’t care, it’s how I feel and I’m sticking to my guns on this one.

 

4 thoughts on “RANDOM RANT: POLITICKING KIDS”

  1. You’re not on your own, I would be really angry too! It’s just one big photo op for them, regardless of what the children may leave thinking or feeling. Terrible!
    Your children are lucky that they have parents that are able to explain the system etc and simplify it for them.

    Like

    1. Thanks! I let my kids lead a lot of what I teach them – they ask questions, I answer. I want them ALWAYS to be inquisitive although to be honest, trying to put politics into the frame that a seven year old can understand, especially when she keeps digging for more info, is pretty challenging on the spot!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Totally agree! We visited Germany recently and came across the Nazi’s rally grounds… we had to explain what happened… I tried to make it as child friendly as possible… if that is possible at all. My children are 7, 6 and 3… challenging nightmare indeed!

        Like

  2. Right there with you…I would have been furious! On a lighter note, if someone told that to my kids, my kids would have looked at them straight in the eyes and said “WHY?” 🙂

    Like

What do you think?...

