CHANGE THE WORLD

Daily prompt: Breaking the Ice

There are so many causes that I believe in. But it is impossible to support them all.

Basically, I want the world to be a better place.

I want more of the world, actually I want all of the world, to experience the sort of life that I have. A world where I live in safety, free from guns and violence. A world in which I am free to make my own choices, I can openly worship the God of my choice, I can vote in national elections, I can marry whoever I like. A world where education, especially as a woman, is not a maybe it’s a given and I have endless options for my life. A world where if I am sick I can go to a hospital. A world where people of all nations and cultures are accepted. I have fresh water, I have food, I have a home.

I am privileged.

Do I have an idealised Utopian view of the world? Yes probably. But can the world be a better place. Yes I believe that is true too. It can be overwhelming for sure and I know that I can’t support all the causes that come knocking on my door. So I pick and choose, I have to.

I know that there are people in New Zealand, people in my town, who don’t have a half of what I have in this life. So I try to make a difference locally. Where possible I give my time, I give my money and I give materially to people and causes that touch my heart.

Branson Can't change the world alone
photo credit: symphony of love via photopin cc

The Cancer Society has always been my ‘medical cause’ of choice, more so since my mum started her battle. They do amazing work on the ground level and we need as much research going into the horrid disease as possible. I’ve been a youth mentor and hope to do this again. I volunteer for appeal weeks manning stalls and collecting money, give funds, do fundraising walks, buy groceries for the food-bank appeals, make Christmas boxes, and offer material possessions to those who will give them directly to those in need. I do sponsor a World Vision child as globally I believe in the work of World Vision.

And I pray.

Don’t get me wrong, that might sound like I spent all my time running around doing charity work or something. It’s not like that.  But when an opportunity presents itself to help someone out, I make sure I’m open to that.

We could all say: I can’t make a difference, I can’t change the world, it won’t matter if I don’t do something. But I don’t agree. My little bits of doing and giving and praying, add up to your little bits of doing and giving and praying. Many hands and hearts together can do great things. We don’t have a lot of spare money but it’s not about the cash. A bit every now and again makes a difference to someone else. And it generally doesn’t cost anything to give of our time.

I draw my children into this spirit of giving as much as possible. Nat had a clean out of toys recently and I gave her the option of selling them online or giving them to a few places. She chose to give (whew!) and admitted it felt good. I often hear the kids whining on such first-world problems. “Our computer is soooo slow”. “I don’t like this for dinner”. It makes me cross and sometimes I really let rip at them about how privileged they are. How there are kids down the road who probably didn’t get more than one meal that day. How having a slow computer is better than having no computer. You get my drift! I think they understand … I also think they forget. They are children after all.

I have to be really honest about this too. While I give because I feel it’s the right thing to do, and I want to make a difference, no matter how small, it also feels good to do it. I haven’t yet decided if this is a selfish motivation for doing these things or a positive spin-off. I have come to the conclusion that it probably doesn’t matter because nobody is coming to any harm from my actions, it’s win-win on all sides of the equation.

We can make the world a better place and in doing so we can make our own world a better place too.

 This post is in response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: The internet has recently been swept up by the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. Is there a cause — social, political, cultural, or other — you passionately believe in? Tell us how you got involved — or why you don’t get involved.

3 thoughts on “CHANGE THE WORLD

  1. It would be selfish if all you wanted was a pat on the back or you’d make money out of it. But you don’t. You do it because you care, and it always feels good to do the right thing. No shame in that. You should be proud. More people should, no matter how small.

    Like

What do you think?...

