Writing prompt

IN MY OWN HEAD

Daily prompt: Back to life

It’s funny to me that this prompt treats a flight/drive in the same way as a grueling week at work/exam period. To me, they are worlds apart. A long flight or drive, especially alone is like my idea of awesome … the hard week at work or exams not so much!

So let’s say I’ve had a full on week at work and need to get back to me. What do I need?

I need head-space and I need words. Listening, reading, writing … words.

Books
Image source here.

I am highly introverted – which does not mean ‘shy’ but means (among other things) that I really need time by myself to recharge. I escape into the lyrics of songs, the words in books or the writing of my journal and blog.  I find these therapeutic. My brain works things out at a million miles an hour – somehow, distracting it with words is a way to let my mind process in the background then come back to a happy recharged place.

I can’t always get time alone – I am a wife and mum of four after all, although to be fair my husband understands my ways and is super supportive. Like on Sunday afternoon when I looked at him, possibly with a bit of panic in my eyes and said “I NEED to go to the library for an hour. Alone”. He didn’t question me, just sent me on my way with the offer to cook tea so I could take longer. Love him!

So anyway, I don’t always get time alone but there are ways around that too. I often combine music with a Sunday afternoon of baking. The methodical process of baking with music around me is equally soothing – also solves the problem of what to put in lunch boxes for the next week.

So now you can see why the idea of a long flight, or a drive is just fine with me. I have driving playlists on my iPod and when I’m out on the road my mind can roam free as it needs to. Ditto flying – throw in a movie and a good novel, perhaps a glass of wine, aaaahhhhhhh…

This post is in response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: After an especially long and exhausting drive or flight, a grueling week at work, or a mind-numbing exam period — what’s the one thing you do to feel human again?

 

7 thoughts on “IN MY OWN HEAD”

  1. I completely understand and agree with what you say in your post! Books, words, also for me, data and science – so calming. I do have trouble with sleep and laughed when a friend told me to just “turn off your brain.” I said that it keeps working even when I’m asleep, often wakes me with issues that I’ve been working on… yawn 😉

    Like

What do you think?...

