NUMBERS OR SEASONS?

Daily prompt: Age-Old Questions

I wrote about age in a recent post. It was a nice segue from childhood dreams to the same age-old question that of today. Is age just a number? Should we care?

What I came up with in that post was:

“I’m not sure that at the grand old age of 36 I can consider myself ‘grown up’. Really, who says, that at an arbitrary  age, whether it be 18, 21, 25 or whatever, that this is it, that we are grown. Sure we are physically and mentally done but emotionally, intellectually and spiritually, I always want to grow – life is a journey, growth is what makes it good amazing”.

I do think that age is just a number. I do think about my number – but I don’t care about it. Having a birthday this week, I can say that quite honestly. I’ve put some thought into it. I’m going to be 37 so I wonder, can I no longer say that I’m in my mid-thirties? Am I now in my late-thirties? Gosh that means 40 is just around the corner.

And you know what? That panics some people, I know it does, but I just don’t take issue with it. I see my life in seasons, not numbers. This season is one of growth leading to something exciting I’m sure. And besides, to celebrate me moving into a new decade in a few years, my husband and I are hoping to take a holiday sans children. What’s not to be excited about?!

This post is in response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Age is just a number,” says the well-worn adage. But is it a number you care about, or one you tend (or try) to ignore?

 

3 thoughts on “NUMBERS OR SEASONS?

  1. I’m going to be 37 in a couple months and I couldn’t be happier. I have always been an old soul trapped in a young looking body. I think it’s your mindset and your actions that make you grown up, not your age. I’ve met 12 year olds that acted like they were 30 and vise versa.

    Like

What do you think?...

