WRITE AWAY

Write NowDaily prompt: Back of the Queue

For as long as I can remember I have wanted to write. But I’ve been afraid. A part of me hopes I have some ability, part of me doesn’t care, I just love to put words on a page. These last few months blogging are the start of what has been at the top of my ‘I wish I could’ list for decades. And I’m loving it.

I know why I’ve been scared.

Aside from the fact that writing is so personal and completely subjective, back in my school days I was completely burnt by a teacher. We had to submit a creative writing assessment for Year 11 English on the topic of our choice. It was a process worked on in class over weeks – except I didn’t do much work in class. I poured the composition out two nights before it was due – and I was pretty happy with what I had done.

The following week the Dean summoned me to his office. I was given the paper back with a huge red ‘F’ and ‘plagiarized’ written across the top. Gutted. I was not an F student, and I was mortified that anyone would think I would cheat – especially as I hadn’t! Apparently that teacher had deemed my writing ‘too good’ given the small amount of work I had done in class and assumed I copied it from a senior student (this is pre-internet days!).

On the one hand, I should have been flattered I guess, I wrote something so good, it was unbelievably mine. But all that stayed with me was the big red ‘F’, the disbelief and accusation in the teacher’s eyes.

What I know now, is that a lot of my writing takes place in my head. So back then, while I appeared to be mucking around in class, my brain was actually doing the prep work. Maybe that’s the same for many of you? By the time I actually put words on paper, an idea has formed and the key words are already getting to know each other.

Two decades later it’s probably time to let go of that one teacher’s comments and stretch my writing muscles. So far my blog has been more of a journal but I’m looking forward to seeing if I can take myself to the front of the queue and add ‘writing’ as a genuine hobby, not just on my wish list.

This post is in response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Is there something you’ve always wanted to do, but never got around to starting (an activity, a hobby, or anything else, really)? Tell us about it — and tell us about what’s keeping you from doing it.

 

5 thoughts on “WRITE AWAY

  1. Hi Abbie. Thank you for visiting my blog and for your encouraging comment. It means a lot to have likeminded others drop by and do that.

    I can tell already that I like what you have to say, just from reading this post alone. I know I will read more. You will officially be the first person in blog-land I have followed because of the content of one post. How bout that for a credit.

    I totally get what you mean about formulating in your head what you later sit down to write, I’m the same.. I chew on my words until I’m ready to spit them out! Eerily, earlier today I commented on another blog (about procrastination) and said the same thing. It may seem like I leave ‘it’ to the last minute (it being whatever I’m composing), but in fact the work begins long long before I sit down to the physical task. It’s my process… it’s your process! 🙂

    I’m sorry you had an ignorant teacher, we all have had one at some point.. it’s what sends these parts of us into exile.. that’s what my blog is all about; retrieving my exiled, creative self! We are on the same path girl…

    Keep going ❤

    Like

    1. Oh wow, that is high accolades. Thank you so much! Yep I could definitely relate to your blog. You should SO call yourself an artist – the proof is right there on the pages of your blog. Like you said to me, keep going. I love your style. And apparently I know your process well 😉 Looking forward to learning more and seeing more! Abbie.

      Like

  2. Ah, I feel angry at your teacher! You write very well and should continue to do so. Blogs are great to start off. My prompt would be similar to yours actually: I always wanted to get a novel published and though I’ve written many I think the rejections from publishers has given me an ever-lasting writers’ block. :/

    Like

What do you think?...

