Writing prompt

PAUSE, AND BREATHE

Daily prompt: By the Dots

My brain whirrs, so fast that sometimes, when the words finally fall out, I forget to breathe. When I do speak, it’s a string of quick-fire, slightly random, breathless sentences. Inside my head they made perfect sense, part of a full conversation – for the poor unsuspecting souls around me, the seemingly random words, context-free, seem slightly odd.

Writing and punctuation save me! The comma and the en (not em) dash – I never did figure out the ’em’ – let me fire all my random thoughts to paper … and breathe. While also separating the only slightly related ideas, allowing my audience to make sense of my often over-active brain.

My use of a comma may be your pet peeve. I’m ok with that. I just hope you use the apostrophe appropriately because that will vex me for sure.

This post is in response to The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: We all have strange relationships with punctuation — do you overuse exclamation marks? Do you avoid semicolons like the plague? What type of punctuation could you never live without? Tell us all about your punctuation quirks!

3 thoughts on “PAUSE, AND BREATHE”

  1. I am recent gal for all the blogging stuff; though reading is much loved personally.
    To be very honest, do breathe a lot before you write, there was a lot of fuss and yet I could find little in the writings of your crazy obsession for quirky punctuation.
    But, you know how to play and I loved it.

    Like

What do you think?...

