SLEEPY TIME?

timepieceThis post is in response to a prompt from The Daily Post: “More and more of us go to bed too late because of sleep procrastination. What are the nighttime rituals that keep you up before finally dozing off?”

 

The insomnia started on 21 December 2013 – I know this because that was the day mum was admitted to hospice care, the day before our first wedding anniversary, the day a new chapter in my life began. The chapter that starts with an end, the most awful goodbye. The chapter where I not only said see you later to my beloved mum, my best friend, but sleep also exited my life.

I used to sleep well, happily anticipating the bedtime hours, eagerly heading upstairs to read until my eyes were leaden and sleep overcame. The rituals are of no consequence any longer – the sleep will not come unless the little blue pill has already weaved its magic on my brain. So I read and I write and read some more before swallowing the four hours of chemical slumber.

 

What do you think?...

