Image from churchimages.blogspot.co.nzAs you do not know the path of the wind, or how the body is formed in a mother’s womb, so you cannot understand the work of God, the Maker of all things.

Ecclesiastes 11:5

Last night my daughter was angry. Hard core, I don’t know what to do with myself, raging, angry. Once we moved past the naughty behaviour, she confessed she was angry at God for taking her Gee away to heaven.

And she asked me why. Why did He do that?

How do I answer that? How do I make that better for her? Well really I don’t. That’s where a lot of hugs come in. And yes we know God has a plan for each of us. Yes good can come from bad. But to a seven-year-old, and even some days to this 30-something mama, when your heart is grieving and you just miss that person so much, the words that your heart knows fall a little flat sometimes.

Then this morning this verse hit me in the face.

Along with it the realisation that it’s not up to us to work out why. It’s up to us to trust in our Maker. To know that He has got our back. To feel it even when we hurt and to hold on to hope. We will meet our Gee again in eternal heaven. And in this life, though we miss her, we will learn to cope with that – growing in strength of character along the way.

I so love that when we seek a word, God delivers. Again and again this has been so true in my life. For which I am grateful daily. Now feeling better armed to handle our inevitable bedtime chat tonight with a stronger, God given, answer to the question “why?”.

What do you think?...

